RSS Feed

Tahoe Eats: Beach, Burgers, and Brew

Though my birthday was a week ago, I’m continuing on with birthday-related posts! On the way back from Emerald Bay lookout, we stopped at Camp Richardson for lunch and to take a peek at the beach. Camp Richardson is a historic resort in South Lake Tahoe, and is known for its full service marina, lodging, and cross country ski resort. As we drove through the camp, we saw adorable cabins and woodsy outbuildings. We finally came to the restaurant we were pretty sure we were looking for, The Beacon Bar & Grill. See, family friends of ours had taken my parents to a restaurant in Camp Richardson a few years ago. Neither my mom nor my dad could remember the name of it. They both agree that it had an awesome view of the lake and a nice beer selection. However, they couldn’t agree upon whether or not the food was worth going back to. Well, we were about to find out.

20120618-123700.jpg

Yep, the beach is right on the other side of the deck!

We walked up to the door and the hostesses tried to seat us in the shade, telling us that there weren’t any partial sun tables available (She was wrong, we could see some). We politely asked to be moved to a different table because, although it was a nice warm day in Tahoe, it was freezing in the shade. We hoped that her attitude wasn’t a reflection on the entire service staff or the food. From our table, we could easily see the sandy beach that was currently filled with families and young adults. Our server Jen came out and totally changed our idea of The Beacon, she was amazing! She recommended the Sweaty Betty Blonde, a blonde wheat beer by Boulder Beer Company and I took her up on it while my parents had Sierra Nevada Summerfest because few restaurants usually have it on tap in our experience. I did not regret my drink order one bit. She came back and took our lunch order: Mediterranean Platter for Two, Tomato Salad, and two Smokey BBQ Turkey Burgers.

20120618-123712.jpg

So much food on the Mediterranean Platter!

20120618-123740.jpg

Smokey BBQ Turkey Burgers with fries, delish!

The Mediterranean Platter for Two should have been called the Mediterranean Platter for Four, or listed under the entree menu! It was freaking monstrous but just as delicious. There was definitely enough hummus, falafel, marinated vegetables, kalamata olive tapenade and grilled flat bread for four to share. The Tomato Salad consisted of heirloom tomatoes, Ciligene mozzarella, arugula, cucumber & balsamic reduction. Highly recommend this salad; it is very fresh and filling. The Smokey BBQ Turkey Burgers came with smoked gouda, apple wood smoked bacon, caramelized onions and their own barbecue sauce on a burger bun with lettuce and tomato. Portion sizes were, again, huge! I had to take home half of my burger and fries for a late night nosh session.

The view, paired with the yummy food, is reason enough to try The Beacon if you’re in the South Lake area. I know I’ll be back– I have to try their famous Rum Runner cocktail and venture onto the beach!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

