RSS Feed

I Left My Heart (at Brunch) in San Francisco

My close friend from college, Kortni, was visiting San Francisco from her current city of Portland. While her boyfriend was busy recording songs with his friend, we decided to meet up  for a day of brunch, shopping, and catching up. I did a little bit of Yelp research, and stumbled upon the delicious sounding (and well reviewed) Brickhouse Cafe in SOMA. After picking Kortni up and searching for parking, we walked in to a brick building (shocking, right?) with eclectic decor and upbeat music playing inside. Our server asked if we wanted mimosas (duh?) and brought two out while we glanced over the menu. I ended up ordering the Sassy Spinach Salad. It boasted spinach, cucumber, tomato, artichoke hearts, kalamata olives, a hardboiled, egg, bacon bits, and feta, topped with an herbed vinaigrette. I opted to 86 the red onions. Kortni, being the huge eggs Benedict fan that she is, ordered the Smoked Salmon Benny. The menu described it as 2 poached eggs with house-smoked (house caught) wild sockeye salmon, served with house made Hollandaise Sauce over an English muffin with roasted potatoes.

20120419-123539.jpg

Sassy Spinach Salad

20120419-123548.jpg

Smoked Salmon Benny

Both Kortni and myslef could not get over how beautiful the presentation was and great our food tasted! We may have ordered a few more rounds of delicious mimosas while we downed our amazingly yummy orders, maybe. Each had just the right amount of food for us. Our server and his busser were also great! I am indebted to Yelp’s helpfulness once more. After we finished our meals, we bid adieu to our server and walked to AT&T park to sober up before driving down to Ghirardelli Square for some shopping, a cupcake, and the eventual beach walk. Perfect day in SF.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

