RSS Feed

Passover In Bed

I’m not Jewish. I get to pretend to be during Christmastime when my family celebrates the age-old tradition of Christmukkah with our second-family-like neighbors. I eat potato latkes with the best of them. And I spin one mean dreidel. It’s a tradition I enjoy and always end up learning something about a culture I didn’t grow up in. This past weekend, I was able to sort-of partake in another Jewish tradtion: Passover.

I’m sure you’ve picked up on the fact that I am not an expert on Jewish culture or history. But one thing I do know, is that you aren’t allowed to eat leavened breads during Passover. Here’s a link to Wikipedia’s description of Passover for those wanting to learn more about the Jewish holiday. Being the carb-lover that I am, I tend to think all bread is the fluffy, leavened kind and gasp in despair at not being able to eat it overlook the fact that while, yes leavened bread is off the menu, that doesn’t mean the menu is without delicious options!

I was on my deathbed extremely ill last week and it carried over through the weekend. This meant that I was unable to join my family in having dinner with aforementioned second-family-like neighbors for dinner. However, I was fortunate enough to have a sampling of the delicious Passover feast delivered right to my bedside! Take a look at the mouthwatering feast I was presented with below!

20120416-173218.jpg

Salmon with hollandaise sauce, smashed potato with cheese and bacon, cooked greens with Parmesan, a fruit bowl, and two coconut macaroons! Sidenote: I’d never tried macaroons before because I got them mixed up with the French macaron, made of meringue, which sounds disgusting to me. I am now a staunch pro-coconut macaroon lover! I was so content and full from this meal and I didn’t even notice the leavened bread was missing!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

