RSS Feed

A Friendly Piece of Advice..

20120406-101001.jpg

I’m pretty sure new moms *hate* receiving unsolicited advice. I’ve even seen onesies with “My mommy doesn’t want your advice” cheerfully printed on them. I doubt such a onesie has stopped an experienced mother from unloading wisdom and amazing tips that saved their lives.

That being said, one of the ideas I had to make the shower special for Alice and Payton, when she’s old enough to care, was to create an advice book. I found the idea on LearnVest here. I didn’t want it to be filled with obnoxious “advice” like “don’t let her sleep with you, she’ll never learn to sleep in her own bed” or “don’t let her suck her fingers, she’ll end up with teeth like Austin Powers”. Anyway, I wanted it to be advice from the women in their lives (most of which lack the actual experience of having a baby and/or managing a relationship), that will give them something to look back on as Payton grows up and Alice and Clinton have to figure out what to with her and their own relationship. I feel like this will be better received than “tape a quarter to my child’s belly button so they’ll have an innie,” (obviously a nickel just won’t do).

I designed these adorable advice cards on Publisher (design friends, I’m sorry!) and printed them out on card stock for durability and writing ease.

20120406-102926.jpg

Then, I bought the 12″x12″ scrap booking album (pictured at the top of this post) at Target and also got the stickers and scrap book paper pictured below.

20120406-101027.jpg

20120406-101019.jpg

At the baby shower, I asked everyone in attendance to fill out one of the cards provided. Some of the advice was to be expected (for Alice and Clinton: “keep it spicy!”, for Payton: “you can’t date until you’re 30”), while other pieces were sweet and heartfelt.

20120406-101007.jpg

I gathered all of the cards at the end of the shower, and toted them home. There was no way I would have been able to put everything together so that everyone could see the finished product. I taped all of the cards onto sheets of paper, decorating with the heart stickers, and inserted the pages into the sleeves of the book.

20120406-101034.jpg

20120406-101039.jpg

Talk about quick and easy crafting! Alice loved it and I think that she and Payton will look back on it some day reminiscing over the antics of her crazy aunts and giggling at the advice given.

(Here’s a post on one of the recipes I made for the shower.)

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Garlic Chicken Puffs « In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

