RSS Feed

NYC Eats: Zlatá Praha

Svíčková. I know you’re thinking, “Ummm what the heck is that?” But svíčková (pronounced svitchkova) is a fabulous dish I discovered during my study abroad stint in the Czech Republic, so I don’t expect you to know what it is. According to Wikipedia, it is marinated beef sirloin. All I remember it as, is a couple of slabs of meat, smothered in a delicious gravy, topped with a lemon slice, cranberry jelly, and whipped cream, served alongside knedlíky (dumplings). During our group’s travels, our friend Nic coined the phrase “I’ve got the itch for the svitch,” whenever he was craving his favorite Czech dish. After reading how The Romantic and The Wino are trying to win a trip to Prague via their blog, I discovered it hard to recover from the wave of nostalgia I felt. I miss it so much! I also miss the food and beer! Speaking of fabulous Czech food, I went to a great Czech restaurant over summer in Queens, NY. If you’re in the area, you should check out Zlatá Praha. They even have hard to find Czech liquors and beers (on tap!!). Below is a picture (I took it at Zlatá Praha during my trip to NYC) of what you can expect should you order svíčková at a Czech restaurant.

Got the Itch for the Svíč.. Svíčková, That Is. | @innatsshoes

I’m pretty sure it’s a law that you have to pair it with a Czech beer.

Update: During my trip to NYC in December 2013, I was beyond bummed to learn that Zlatá Praha had closed. I was heartbroken that I wasn’t going to take my parents there for dinner. Na zdraví and na shledanou to that delightful little slice of the Czech Republic in the States.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Two Days in Prague: What to Do | In Natalie's Shoes

  2. ERMAGHERD! This looks absolutely amazing! My step-sister and her boyfriend are in Prague at the moment, and I’ve implored them to try svickova while there. I first tried it in January last year, on my first trip to Prague, and was apprehensive when my friend Sarah told me what it was, but I absolutely looooved it. I had it again when I returned to Prague this June – definitely not svickova weather (it’s a perfect winter warmer I reckon), but it was so damn good.

    I know where I’m heading if and when I return to NYC 🙂

    Reply
    • It totally sounds (and even looks) weird! But somehow that flavor combo just works. I hope you have better luck than I did! I tried looking up the address to visit again last week but all of the review sites said it was closed as of 2011! However, the website and Facebook are still up and running. Perhaps it reopened? We were short on time in NYC and didn’t end up venturing out to Queens to see whether it was open or not.

      I’m glad you’re a svic lover, too!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Exploring New York in Three Days | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

