RSS Feed

No-Bake Oreo Truffles

Mmm.. Oreos. I personally prefer the chocolate cookie part over the cream filling; but I will gladly devour the entire little sandwich cookie in one bite. I especially love the fudge covered Oreos, but that’s for another time. March 6th was the 100th birthday of the fabulous little cookie. I found a delicious-sounding recipe which uses Oreos as a main ingredient, in honor of that special birthday.

No-Bake Oreo Truffles | @innatsshoes

No-Bake Oreo Truffles | @innatsshoes

Before I begin, I do need to warn you: these are *too* good. And too easy. And my variation on the directions (using a food processor) makes it even easier.

No-Bake Oreo Truffles | @innatsshoes

No-Bake Oreo Truffles adapted from this recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 package Oreo cookies (about 36)
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 5 oz. package JELL-O chocolate instant pudding
  • 12 to 16 Baker’s semi-sweet chocolate squares
  • 4 to 8 Bakers white chocolate squares (or about 1/2 cup white premier chips)

Directions

1. In a mixing bowl, slowly stir the milk into the pudding mix until a paste has formed.

2. Put the Oreos into a food processor and pulse until all are crushed. (I mean, who has time to bash a bag filled with Oreos until they’re perfectly crushed?!)

3. Add the crushed cookies to the pudding mixture and stir will.

4. Form the mixture into small balls (I made mine about 1 1/2 – 2″ big) and place on a wax-paper lined cookie sheet; refrigerate or freeze them for about 10 minutes.

5. While they’re in the freezer, please the semi-sweet chocolate squares in a microwave-safe bowl and heat, stirring often, until melted. (I did 30 second intervals on low power in an attempt at not burning the chocolate.)

6. Dip the chilled Oreo balls into the melted chocolate, place them on a fresh wax-paper lined cookie sheet, and refrigerate or freeze for another 10 minutes. (A fork works great for evenly coating.)

7. Melt the white chocolate chips, and drizzle the melted white chocolate over the cookie balls using a fork or a spoon. Return them to the refrigerator to harden briefly before serving.

Makes approximately 32 cookie balls.

No-Bake Oreo Truffles | @innatsshoes

They look and taste just like a truffle. YUM!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Two Years of Adventuring | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

