RSS Feed

“1, 2, 3 Cookies”: Chocolate Creme de Menthe Edition

While walking through Target today, I noticed a display for the day when even the non-Irish try to drink like they are Irish, St. Patrick’s Day. Shelved between the quirky green hats and green polka-dotted napkins were Hershey’s Creme de Menthe Dark Chocolate Kisses. I passed by the display, contemplating what I could make with the delicious sounding treats. I was reminded of the Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies I’ve become slightly famous for in my circle of friends. They’re amazingly decadent and taste like Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. I stopped drooling over the idea of the Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies when it hit me- I could do something similar and make them taste like Andie’s mints!

"1, 2, 3 Cookies": Chocolate Creme de Menthe Edition | @innatsshoes

"1, 2, 3 Cookies": Chocolate Creme de Menthe Edition | @innatsshoes

Quite a few years back, my lovely Auntie Leigh introduced me to her 1, 2, 3 Cookie recipe. Its name comes not only from how ridiculously easy the recipe is, but because of the ingredients. You take one (1) cake mix of your choice, two (2) eggs, and 1/3 (3) cup of oil. You can add any mix-ins you’d like. I usually use chocolate chips, nuts, or candies (like M&M’s or Reese’s Pieces). I like experimenting with a variety of mix flavors and mix-ins. This has been my go to recipe throughout my baking years, super easy and super delicious. I decided I’d combine this idea with the Peanut Butter Kiss Cookie idea and make them for my extremely food-critical grandfather during my visit. I figured he could be my guinea pig and I could guarantee myself a harsh critique an honest answer. Below is the recipe I conjured up to make these Chocolate Creme de Menthe 1, 2, 3 Cookies.

"1, 2, 3 Cookies": Chocolate Creme de Menthe Edition | @innatsshoes

“1, 2, 3 Cookies”: Chocolate Creme de Menthe Edition

Ingredients:

  • 1 chocolate fudge cake mix
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup of canola oil
  • 32 Hershey’s Creme de Menthe Dark Chocolate Kisses, unwrapped

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Mix cake mix, eggs, and oil until well combined.
  3. Roll mixture into 1″ balls and place 1-2″ apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.
  4. Bake for 10-12 minutes.
  5. Pull tray out and set aside. Place one Kiss in each cookie and slightly twist. Once all cookies have a Kiss, place back in the oven for about a minute.
  6. Take tray out and cool for few minutes. Use a spatula to remove cookies from the tray to cool completely.

Makes approximately 32 cookies, depending on the size of the cookie dough balls.

"1, 2, 3 Cookies": Chocolate Creme de Menthe Edition | @innatsshoes

My experiment turned out to be a huge success! Slightly crispy on the outside and a soft center. The mint flavoring was tasted throughout the cookie, making it quite similar to an Andie’s mint. Not only did everyone in my family love them, my grandfather even requested seconds and eventually thirds! These were delicious with a glass of milk and I can see myself eating a few with some mint chocolate chip ice cream. Quick, easy, and delicious– definitely keeping this recipe.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

5 responses »

  1. Beautiful looking and sounding cookies!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Packing for the Unknown « In Natalie's Shoes

  3. Pingback: Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies « In Natalie's Shoes

  4. Pingback: Packing for the Unknown: Chicago | In Natalie's Shoes

  5. Pingback: 123 Cookies

Leave a Reply

