RSS Feed

Garlic Parmesan Soba Noodles

Garlic, cheese, and pasta. Three things I could never live with out. Especially cheese; I always say that I could become vegan if I didn’t have to give up cheese. I decided to make dinner for my lovely parents last night and they demanded requested I make a recipe I’d introduced to them over summer: Garlic Parmesan Soba Noodles.

As much as I’d love to take credit for the ridiculously easy and amazingly delicious recipe below, I can’t. I found the recipe after perusing a fun blog that a friend had posted a link to on Facebook, Poor Girl Eats Well. The blog, written by Sacramento-based Kimberly A. Morales, features awesome recipes that are both innovative and cheap!

Note: Soba noodles are made from buckwheat flour and are *not* easy to find! Raley’s, Safeway, SavMart, and Trader Joe’s did not carry these delicious noodles. I’m lucky that I live near a Whole Foods and they have just about everything. Here’s a picture of the package I bought at Whole Foods. I suppose a thin spaghetti could work, but I haven’t tried it.

20120221-104558.jpg

Below is the recipe as I made it (I tend to alter recipes as I go and I doubled this batch) but here’s a link to PGEW’s version of Garlic Parmesan Soba Noodles, which Kimberly mentions was adapted from 101 Cookbooks.

Ingredients:
2 8 oz. package dried soba noodles
14 oz. extra-firm tofu, sliced into 1/2″ x 1/2″ cubes
2 T olive oil, divided
1 bag of spinach, coarsely chopped
3/4 c chopped scallions
4-5 garlic cloves, finely chopped or pressed
1 c grated Parmesan
Pepper to taste

Directions:

1.  Cook the soba noodles according to package instructions.  Drain well, drizzle with a small amount of olive oil, cover  and set aside.
2.  Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat and add 1 tablespoon of oil.
3.  Add the tofu cubes and stir fry quickly, sprinkling 1 teaspoon of pressed garlic (about one clove worth) and about a handful of parmesan about midway through the cooking process.
4.  Remove from heat and set aside.
5.  In the same skillet add the remaining olive oil and the chopped fresh garlic.  Cook until garlic just begins to brown and turn fragrant.
6.  Add the spinach, tossing to coat in oil and garlic. Cook for 30 seconds to a minute, until it just begins to wilt.

7.  Add spinach to the soba noodles. Mix with remaining pressed garlic, parmesan, tofu and scallions and toss together until combined.
8.  Place a generous amount of noodles on each plate or bowl, top with a few tofu strips, sprinkle with extra parmesan and some ground black pepper, and enjoy!

Serves 6-8

20120221-083620.jpg
I cut my tofu block into 1/2″ cubes for more tofu piece in each bite.
20120221-083634.jpg
This time, I used “firm” tofu rather than “extra-firm”. I had to add more cheese and turned up the heat to cook off the excess water from the tofu.
20120221-083644.jpg
What the tofu should look like before removing from the pan. See the cheese making the tofu slightly golden?
20120221-083713.jpg
Add the spinach in handfuls so it can all fit!
20120221-083721.jpg
Toss ingredients together.
20120221-083726.jpg
The delicious result!

If you are wary about trying a dish like this or need another reason to try it, let it be known that my dad thought he hated tofu. The first time I made this, I’d announced I was going to make them dinner and had all of the ingredients on their kitchen counter. He spotted the tofu and soba noodles and freaked. “Tofu.. for dinner?” he complained. I told him to relax and to judge it once he’d tried it. I’d only made a single batch of the recipe and there was not one noodle or piece of tofu left after we’d served ourselves. I’ve learned to make a double batch of the recipe since!

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for following my new blog! I think you have a great concept with this. I LOVE cooking, and am always looking to hear about and learn new recipes … well, anything relating to food. If you like cheese, check out this recipe… it has the appearance of gourmet with the ease and time consumption equivalent to that of hamburger helper… seriously .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

