RSS Feed

Napa Eats: Bounty Hunter

Sure, we all have to eat food; but why settle for something blah when you can enjoy something incredible? Two weeks ago, my best friend Charise came to visit me for much needed girl time. She’s in the middle of planning her wedding and I was having the day from public transportation hell. What can I say, I’m a small-town girl where our “public transportation” consists of a few bus lines. In need of some serious comfort food, I decided to take Charise to a place I’ve been to a handful of times and had the same amazing sandwich each time,  Bounty Hunter Rare Wine & Provisions. It’s a cozy, dimly lit restaurant that feels as if it’s been a Napa treasure for many decades, even if that’s not the case. Reservations are not accepted, so we got on the wait list for a table. We ended up having a minor mix up with the host about whether or not we wanted a seat, so we were generously offered beer as compensation while we waited for our table and reviewed a menu. After my delicious Pyramid Apricot Ale and Charise’s Sierra Nevada Old Chico, we had made our minds up on a dinner decision. Heck, who am I kidding, I knew what I was ordering before I’d walked through the door. Their shredded beer can chicken sandwich is ah.maz.ing. 

The first time I’d ever had this sandwich was on a dinner date with my longtime friend Jack. Neither of us had ever been to Bounty Hunter, so we decided to split the  Bounty Hunter’s Pulled Pork sandwich and the Shredded Beer Can Chicken sandwich. Being the pulled pork fiend that I am, I was secretly plotting to eat the majority sandwich and leave Jack with the chicken sandwich – I mean, it was just a chicken sandwich. Wrong. I was also wrong in trying the chicken sandwich before trying the pulled pork sandwich. Compared to the beer can chicken, the pulled pork was overly spiced and a little dry. I called dibs on the rest of the beer can chicken sandwich before Jack knew what’d hit him. Granted, the pulled pork was probably delicious. Unfortunately for it, my taste buds were tainted by the fabulous flavors bursting out of the chicken sandwich. I’d made my choice and I wasn’t looking back.

Much like the first time I ordered it, I don’t plan on ordering anything else during my next visit at Bounty Hunter Rare Wine & Provisions. But I don’t think the amazing sandwich will stop me from stealing a bite or two of someone else’s order, just in case.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Two Years of Adventuring | In Natalie's Shoes

  2. Pingback: Three Years of Adventuring | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

