RSS Feed

The Most Amazing Mixed Nuts

Omg guys. You know I love Martha. Every Christmas, I love her even more because my mom makes the most amazing mixed nut recipe of hers. This is that recipe I spoke of here and promised to share with you. I’m finally following through! This mixed nut recipe from her Hor D’oeuvres Handbook is to die for. My mom has been making it for years and I finally decided I should learn how to make it.

Okay enough raving about nuts, I’ll just share it with you.

20140114-111543.jpg

Martha’s version calls for a wider variety of nuts and more salt and butter, but the recipe below is how we make our batch (the photos show us making a double batch, though).

20140114-111409.jpg

This mixture alone will make your kitchen smell amazing!

20140114-111415.jpg

20140114-111423.jpg

Make sure there is caramelization on most of the onions and shallots.

This year, I used my batch to gift to friends, family, and the hosts of the apartments we stated at on our NYC-London-Paris trip. With the exception of the hosts, I used these DIY Cinnamon Gift Tags on each recipient’s gift. I know, I went a little craft-crazy this year..

20140114-111432.jpg

The biggest pain of this recipe is picking all of the rosemary needles off the branch. (Are they called rosemary branches?)

20140114-111501.jpg

This concoction + butter = the most amazing thing.

20140114-111508.jpg

While Lady Martha insists the shallots and onions be crispy, ours have never turned out so. We just caramelize and deal.20140114-111516.jpg

20140114-111525.jpg

Ingredients

  • 5 cups mixed nuts, such as cashews, almonds, and pecans
  • 2 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 small shallots, thinly sliced crosswise into rings to yield about 1/4 cup
  • 3 garlic cloves, thinly sliced lengthwise
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup coarsely chopped fresh rosemary
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 tablespoon firmly packed dark-brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons coarse salt (we use Kosher salt)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Place the nuts in a single layer on 2 rimmed baking sheets. Toast until the nuts are golden and fragrant (be very careful not to burn!), 8 to 12 minutes, rotating the pans and stirring the nuts halfway through cooking. Transfer the nuts to a large bowl, and set aside.
  2. Heat the olive oil in a small skillet over medium heat. Add the shallots and garlic; fry until golden, 3 to 5 minutes. Transfer the shallots and garlic to paper towels. Set aside.
  3. Melt the butter and pour it over the nuts. Add the rosemary, cayenne, brown sugar, and salt, and stir well to combine. Toss in the crispy garlic and shallots. Serve warm. Or don’t, because they are delicious room-temp, too.

20140114-111536.jpgIf you can manage to not eat the majority of your batch in one sitting (seriously, I dare you to try), this recipe is the perfect gift for the holidays! It’s homemade, so super thoughtful, and you can make gifts for multiple people in about an hour.

About In Natalie's Shoes

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

5 responses »

  1. Looks great! I’ve used a similar approach but with egg white instead of butter. There are plenty of healthy fats in nuts so why add more and of the less healthy variety, is how I see it. I like your use of shallots and garlic. Must try this next time. Thanks for posting!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Your Guide to Holiday Eating | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 741 other followers

