RSS Feed

Crockpot Applesauce

Posted on

I absolutely adore this time of year. Falling leaves, apples in everything, cozy nights. And baking. So. Much. Baking. I love making the house smell cozy, like fall. Earlier this week, I decided to finally try using my crockpot to make something. And that something happened to be homemade applesauce. Not only did this make my house smell absolutely delish, guys, it was sooo easy.

20131120-103942.jpg

Oh, and it only has 2 ingredients. Apples and cinnamon.

I kept seeing recipe after recipe with variations on this basic version. I decided to just keep it real. (Read: easy) So as I was saying, get a bunch of apples and some cinnamon. 20131120-103933.jpg

Clean ‘em up. I will admit that peeling 10 apples is a huge pain in the ass. By apple 3 I was regretting the decision to make this.. But it’s worth it. Trust.

20131120-103958.jpg

Chop them up..

20131120-104016.jpg

..to the level of chunky you like your apples to be in applesauce.20131120-104029.jpg

Throw them in your crockpot and sprinkle some cinnamon over the top.20131120-104040.jpg

Cover and set on low for 8 hours. 20131120-104050.jpg

DON’T add a 1/2 cup of water, like I did. Apparently, apples have hella water in them already. I should know this. But it was my first time using a crockpot to cook in and I got scared.20131120-104059.jpg

But this was the most delightful thing (and smell!) to wake up to on a rainy Tuesday morning.

20131120-104110.jpg

Ingredients

  • 10 apples (I used a mix of Granny Smith, Gala, and Jazz)
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon (more or less depending on your taste)

Directions

  1. Rinse apples, then peel and core.
  2. Chop into chunks– size depending on how chunky you like your applesauce/how lazy you are (you can always use an immersion blender or regular blender to get the chunks out later).
  3. Place in a crockpot (mine’s 5 qt.) and sprinkle cinnamon over the top. Cover, and cook on low for 8 hours.

20131120-104120.jpg

Oh yeah. Look at that wonderfulness! My roommate and I both loved it. I’m planning on using some of it in another recipe, of the non-food variety. Have I captured your interest yet? Visit back soon, little loves!

About Natalie

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: DIY Cinnamon Gift Tags | In Natalie's Shoes

  2. Pingback: 2013 Highlights | In Natalie's Shoes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 576 other followers

