RSS Feed

Garlic Chicken Puffs

Posted on

I’m finally getting around to posting the second appetizer I made for Alice’s baby shower (you can find the first one here and a craft I made for the party here) a few weeks ago! Before I write about the other delicious recipe I made for Alice’s baby shower, I have to confess something: I found it on Pinterest. Now, that seems innocent and common enough, right? But here’s the thing: I find myself not caring for Pinterest too much anymore. The Pinterest I loved was the one I was invited to by my friend Stephanie about 8 months ago. The site was not flooded with spam nor businesses pushing their baloney (news articles, advertisements, etc.), just helpful people sharing cool DIY crafts, recipes, and fashion ideas. Bummer. Anyway, back to the recipe at hand: Garlic Chicken Puffs.

This recipe is so incredibly easy! I really didn’t change too much when making it for Alice’s shower. I happen to like to make things as easy as possible for myself when in the kitchen. Rather than cooking up and shredding chicken breasts, I used canned chicken breasts from Costco (we always have them on hand). I doubled the amount of cream cheese, threw in 2 cloves of garlic in addition to Tidy Mom’s teaspoon (vampires and boys, stay away!), and added some freshly ground black pepper. By the way, here is a link to the original recipe from Tidy Mom, which I found via Pinterest.

Ingredients

  • 2 packages crescent rolls
  • 1 8 ounce package of cream cheese
  • 1 12.5 ounce can of chicken (I used the Kirkland brand from Costco)
  • 2 cloves of garlic, pressed in a garlic press
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder (hey, I like garlic!)
  • About 1 teaspoon black pepper (I used a grinder and don’t know exactly how much I put in)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 F.

2. Mix cream cheese, chicken, pressed garlic cloves, garlic powder, and pepper until well blended.

3. Unroll crescent rolls and cut each perforated triangle into 2 triangles. (It will look like a big X through each section of rectangle-shaped dough. There’s a picture below.)

4. Place 1 heaping teaspoon of chicken mixture on the center of each triangle and fold the corners over the chicken mixture.

5. Place about a 1/2″ to 1″ apart on a cookie sheet. Bake for 12-14 minutes, or until golden brown.

Makes 32 roll ups.

20120411-103242.jpg

Looks kinda gross at first..

20120413-202426.jpg

A visual of Step 3. I couldn't quite explain it clearly.

20120411-103313.jpg

My lovely friend Shaylyn demonstrating the fold.

20120411-103326.jpg

I don't feel the need to grease my cooking pan due to the oil/butter in the crescent rolls.

20120411-103606.jpg

20120411-103644.jpg

Served with marinara for dipping!

They really aren’t very garlicky once they’re finished, swear! Personally, I like to dip these in marinara sauce. However, they’re perfectly delectable on their own. Ooh, maybe I’ll try them dipped in pesto next? These garlic chicken puffs are a quick and easy recipe I always receive tons of compliments on.  Let me know if you try them!

About Natalie

I’m a twenty-something food fanatic. By day, I’m working for a non-profit, by night I’m dreaming of becoming a domestic goddess, creating adorable crafts to gift and engineering delicious home cooked meals for the fabulous dinner parties I’ll one day throw. I love to travel, locally, regionally… heck, even internationally, I don’t discriminate too much when it comes to a new destination. I am a little obsessed with taking photos of the food I eat, whether I make it or pay to eat it. It is my firm belief that a girl can never have enough purses or too many shoes. I plan to fill this lovely little blog with my adventures in food, travel, and craftiness. I hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers

